University of Divinity

The University of Divinity is an Australian collegiate university of specialisation in divinity. It is constituted by eleven theological colleges from eight denominations. The University of Divinity is the direct successor of the second oldest degree-granting authority in the State of Victoria, the Melbourne College of Divinity. The university's chancery and administration are located in Kew, a suburb of Melbourne in the state of Victoria.

The Melbourne College of Divinity was constituted in 1910 by an act of the Parliament of Victoria. The act was amended in 1956, 1972, 1979, 1990, 2005 and 2016 and is now known as the University of Divinity Act 1910 (previously the Melbourne College of Divinity Act 1910). From its beginnings the college was a self-accrediting issuer of degrees, while not becoming a university until 2011. Representatives appointed by several churches formed the college to provide tertiary level theological education. The first president was the Right Reverend Henry Lowther Clarke, Anglican Archbishop of Melbourne, and the first registrar was the Reverend John Mathew, Moderator of the Presbyterian Church of Victoria.

In 2010, the Melbourne College of Divinity applied to the Victorian Regulation and Qualifications Authority for approval to operate as an "Australian University of Specialisation". The Victorian government announced on 30 August 2011 that the application had been approved and on 1 January 2012 the college began operating as a university. Professor Peter Sherlock was appointed the inaugural Vice-Chancellor in April 2012.[3] In May 2019 TEQSA extended the seven year licence to operate as a university for an additional three years to the maximum possible of ten years before a review.

The University of Divinity promotes the highest standards of scholarship in theology, philosophy and ministry. Through scholarship, the University aims to address the issues of the contemporary world. Founded in 1910 as the Melbourne College of Divinity, the University has a long history of pursuing and achieving these aims.All students and staff join the University through one of its Colleges. Based in the Australian cities of Melbourne, Adelaide and Sydney, each College is a unique learning community. The Colleges are supported by a wide range of churches and religious orders that together resource the University as a They empower the learning community to address the issues of the contemporary world through critical engagement with Christian theological traditions.

The University of Divinity is a Private university located in Melbourne.
The University of Divinity was founded in 1910.
The current president of University of Divinity is Graeme Blackman AO.




Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the Australia.

Location of University of Divinity

Schools of University of Divinity